Have You Heard of: “@ColoredMyMind”?

As the sister of an incredible young man who is severely autistic, the daughter of a woman who has struggled to hide the obvious pain she feels and (as a result) the creator of a very small African American Autism Awareness group, I watched this video and I could not help but to wonder if these tears were the most accurate reflection my mother’s silent cries. She has always been so strong in front of us, raising 5 kids (one with severe Autism) on her own against many trials and tribulations. But I digress…

I present to you the riveting trailer for “Colored My Mind” a docu-feature film about Autism in the Black and Brown communities. I cannot explain to you how important this movement is and how familiar the emotions of these women are to me. The description is as follows:

“As Mom Warriors, we have a new enemy to fight. It hides itself in ignorance, and blankets itself beneath generational fear. It is attacking our children at epidemic proportions. They call this new enemy: Autism. We answer that call with a battle cry of new stories, new songs, and new truths that destroy old lies. In this story, we will slay yet another giant.” –SOURCE

The five prominent sistas at the forefront of this movement are Tammy McCrary, Shannon Nash, LaDonna Hughley, Donna Hunter and Tisha Campbell-Martin creating an alliance of African American mothers whose children are affected by Autism that are taking on the system and unveiling the lifelong struggles of families such as my own. They are all powerful women blessed to be in a MUCH more comfortable position to deal with these tribulations than my mother has ever been but it is the exact same fight. I am absolutely moved by the possibilities this may unveil for the African American Autism community. I will be tracking the progress of this movement on the AAAA page of my blog here so please check back for future updates. I. Am. So. Very. Proud. of this and I will still continue to pray this means change. Its about time.

Follow “Colored My Mind” on Twitter HERE

Join “Colored My Mind” on FaceBook HERE

About Queen Unique

Involved Parent/PTA Member Connoisseur of SOUL Music Lover of ALL things BLACK Poet/Spoken Word Artist Nostalgic Hip Hop head Graphic Artist/Painter Online Radio Hostess Motivational Speaker Habitual Hair Braider Freelance Journalist Random Twitter-er Selective Blogger Published Author Youth Volunteer Choosey Lover Autism Activist Visual Artist Bookworm See full bio at: www.QueenUnique.com
This entry was posted in Advocacy, Advocating for Kids, All Things Parenting, Autism, Black History, Education, Inspirational/Motivational, Race Matters, Things I Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

