Black Music Month 2011: Top 10 Songs About Hair

Black Music Month has been celebrated in the United States since its inception in 1979. 28 years ago on June 7th, President Jimmy Carter decreed June as a month dedicated to celebrating black musical contributions. Although I believe black music is still alive (depending on where you’re looking for it) and should be celebrated year round, I’ll go ahead and mix the concept with something else I appreciate… HAIR! Here is a list of my top ten songs about hair, feel free to add more in the comments section! Don’t forget to click the jump to peep the videos for my top three… (ENJOY!)

10.) B* Hold My Ponytail by B. Scott
9.) She’s Always In My Hair by Prince
8.) Pullin’ On Her Hair by Marques Houston
7.) Let Your Hair Down by the Temptations
6.) Playin’ In Her Hair by The Dream
5.) Whip My Hair by Willow Smith
4.) Let Your Hair Down by Dwele

3.) I Am Not My Hair by India.Arie

2.) Black Is The Color of My True Love’s Hair by Nina Simone

1.) The Beauty Within by Dead Prez

BONUS: Afro (skit) by Erykah Badu

About Queen Unique

Involved Parent/PTA Member Connoisseur of SOUL Music Lover of ALL things BLACK Poet/Spoken Word Artist Nostalgic Hip Hop head Graphic Artist/Painter Online Radio Hostess Motivational Speaker Habitual Hair Braider Freelance Journalist Random Twitter-er Selective Blogger Published Author Youth Volunteer Choosey Lover Autism Activist Visual Artist Bookworm See full bio at: www.QueenUnique.com
This entry was posted in earCandy, Entertainment, Things I Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Black Music Month 2011: Top 10 Songs About Hair

  1. what about Afro Puff??

  2. Pingback: The Poetic Hair Stylings Of Leonard Cohen: “I comb my hair for possibilities”

Leave a Reply

