Tyler Perry is Fed UP!!

Tyler Perry is finally sick of the negative criticism from Spike Lee and others that look like him. I personally LOVE the Madea films and plays and support Mr. Perry. I believe he is building a legacy and paving his way toward being a historical figure in African American history by conquering feats many of us will only dream of or talk about. 12 years ago, Tyler Perry was a struggling, homeless playwright living out of his car.  He is now ranked the sixth highest paid person in Hollywood with films grossing over $400 million dollars. Tyler Perry made black history by becoming the first African American to own his own film production studio in Atlanta, Georgia occupying two former airline-affiliated buildings for a total of 200,000 square feet of sets and office space with the slogan “A Place Where Even Dreams Believe”.  Mr. Perry finally spoke out about the negativity and I’m almost sure he said some of this in the notorious Madea voice… well, at least in my head I’ll pretend he did…

“I’m so sick of hearing about damn Spike Lee. Spike can go straight to hell! I am sick of him saying, ‘This is a coon, this is a buffoon.’ I am sick of him talking about black people going to see movies. This is what he said: ‘You vote by what you see’ — as if black people don’t know what they want to see. I am sick of him. He talked about Whoopi, he talked about Oprah, he talked about me, he talked about Clint Eastwood. Spike needs to shut the hell up!

I don’t even understand it. There [are] so many people who walk around, and this is where the whole Spike Lee [issue] comes from — the negativity, ‘This is Stepin Fetchit,’ ‘This is coonery,’ ‘This is buffoonery’ — and they try to get people to get on this bandwagon with them, to get this mob mentality to come against what I’m doing.

What they don’t understand is this, and this is what I want to make perfectly clear to everybody, especially black people: I’ve never seen Jewish people attack Seinfeld and say, ‘This is a stereotype.’ I’ve never seen Italian people attack The Sopranos, I’ve never seen Jewish people complaining about Mrs. Doubtfireor Dustin Hoffman and what they were doing in Tootsie. I never saw it. It’s always black people, and this is something that I cannot undo.

They go on to say that people of other ethnic groups or white people don’t go see my movies, and that’s all a lie. I’m standing on stage looking at thousands of people, thousands of faces, with every race represented, and I’m tired of it. I’m tired of just laying down, tired of just being nice and letting them say whatever they want to say however they want to say it without people knowing what the intent really is.

Booker T. Washington and W.E.B. DuBois went through the exact same thing; Langston Hughes said that Zora Neale Hurston, the woman who wrote ‘Their Eyes Were Watching God,’ was a new version of the ‘darkie’ because she spoke in a southern dialect and a Southern tone,” Perry offered. “And I’m sick of it from us; we don’t have to worry about anybody else trying to destroy us and take shots because we do it to ourselves.”

Source

About Queen Unique

Involved Parent/PTA Member Connoisseur of SOUL Music Lover of ALL things BLACK Poet/Spoken Word Artist Nostalgic Hip Hop head Graphic Artist/Painter Online Radio Hostess Motivational Speaker Habitual Hair Braider Freelance Journalist Random Twitter-er Selective Blogger Published Author Youth Volunteer Choosey Lover Autism Activist Visual Artist Bookworm See full bio at: www.QueenUnique.com
This entry was posted in Black History, Entertainment, Race Matters, Things I Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

