The Male Perspective on Black Women & Hair (project)

I am currently in the beginning stages of creating a documentary on male opinions of black women and their hair. All inclusive on natural styles, dreadlocks, weaves, perms, braids, etc. Seeking diverse, descriptive and honest video or text submissions to be considered for inclusion as well as the poll below. You can also catch me around town with the camcorder or at Acoustic Affairs and we can record yours at that time also! Any men interested in participating, hit me up for details, there is no current deadline as of but now hoping to complete and release by Fall 2010… will update you all soon…

Contact email: QueenUnique@gmail.com

Share/Bookmark

About Queen Unique

Involved Parent/PTA Member Connoisseur of SOUL Music Lover of ALL things BLACK Poet/Spoken Word Artist Nostalgic Hip Hop head Graphic Artist/Painter Online Radio Hostess Motivational Speaker Habitual Hair Braider Freelance Journalist Random Twitter-er Selective Blogger Published Author Youth Volunteer Choosey Lover Autism Activist Visual Artist Bookworm See full bio at: www.QueenUnique.com
This entry was posted in Beauty Tips, Black History, Education, Entertainment, For OUR Daughters, Girl Power, Health/Fitness, Inspirational/Motivational, Love You Some You, Natural Hair Journey, queen speaks radio, Race Matters, Teach the babies, Things I Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Male Perspective on Black Women & Hair (project)

  1. CRhodes says:

    I believe Black women’s hair can beautiful in every style, form. I think women choose what’s comfortable and convenient for them. Black hair is naturally ‘kinky’ but women who rock a ‘natural’ afro or locks can appear to be ‘too ethnic’ for corporate America. This is a stereotype that I believe has put more pressure on Black women to wear relaxers and extensions to appear more acceptable in the workplace. I don’t believe every Black woman can or should wear the same style whether it be natural, permed, sewn in, or braided. My grandmother looks gorgeous to me with straight, relaxed black/grey hair and my sister looks lovely with an afro. Media has conditioned men to see straight hair as ‘more’ beautiful. I admit, when I envision the woman I will marry- I picture a woman with straight hair, because most women I’ve dated have had straight hair. But if a woman has locks or an afro, I would still see her being just as beautiful (if not more) because the personality weighs much heavier than the hair style.

  2. Deep Thinker says:

    My personal preference holds both permed/straight natural and natural/kinky styles for my Black Sisters. Do I think too much emphasis is placed on a Black Sister styling of her hair? Yes. Why.. while her hair is beautiful, wonderful to touch and caress, the effort to make billions off her hair being fashioned and conformed to what others perceive as ‘beautiful’ make my Black Sisters go through far more changes just for the sake of appearance rather than speak fully to the soul and personally of the woman she really is. I like both the permed/straight natural and natural/kinky on a Black Sister because both give her means to express her feminine grace and radiance the right way. All that other stuff in my opinion takes away from her true grace, poise and strength because others are telling them this is what you need to do in order to be deemed beautiful.

    Her real beauty stands in who she is, not how many strands of hair flow down her back or lay on her shoulders.

  3. I have evolved. Twelve years ago, I preferred my girl to have long flowing straight hair — it was the typical image of having hair as close to a white girl as possible.

    When my wife was pregnant with our second son, she cut off all of her hair while I was in LA on a business trip. I was tripping when I came home. She said she wanted to lock and promised she would wear beautiful head wraps until her locks began to grow. I really enjoyed watching her in her various head wraps — she was very beautiful.

    As her locks began to grow, I went on an emotional roller-coaster ride. Sometimes they looked hot and sometimes NOT! One particular time that stands out in my mind was when her head looked like a porcupine. She loved it — I hated it. But one thing that began to change my mind was our intimacy. My girl started putting it on me and was no longer worried about ruining her hair. It was a new kind of freedom.

    Today, she still cuts the top of her locks into a short layered cut while her sides and back are growing longer and longer. I absolutely love my girls hair. I now think that every black woman I see should wear their hair in a locked style. I wouldn’t want my girl to have any other hairstyle in the world. I am one very happy man!

  4. Jack III says:

    First of all Sis Kudos,
    I must say I Love it, Love it, Love it. Anytime we can get the Black King & Queen to converse is wonderful. Especially when it is to enlighten & or bring about simple understanding. It shows that we are more than empty shells just here without Purpose & Destiny.
    Well on the topic of Preference of Hair on our Black Empresses, I’ve always loved the unlimited ability of our Sisters to always bring something amazingly alluring to the “Hair Game”. We are definitely the most diverse ethnicity & it shows in all the we are. I am an Artist who considers himself somewhat of a Naturalist. Therefor, I don’t necessarily approve of any type of “Hair Care” that cause damage, Immediate or future. I adore all hair-types of the Black Hair Spectrum, but prefer Naturals. I respect when a Sister is Confident enough to work with what she’s got. No-matter the length or grade.
    In my Artistic opinion, Confident Sisters get more than the pretty, insecure, overly-self-conscious sister.
    Side-Note, My Empress of seven years has Naturally curly hair & went Locs about 4 years ago after seeing how mine turned out. I Love them, & have always Adored her Curly Hair-Grade.

  5. Whichever she prefers… If she’s happy then I am happy. I’m pro choice!

Leave a Reply

