The Definition of NATURAL HAIR

Okay, let’s clear this up once and for all. I personally believe this is common knowledge but after reading online and encountering many sisters who have the meaning of this all screwed up, I guess this isn’t as common as I thought. So here we go, one time and one time ONLY…

NATURAL HAIR n: \ˈna-chə-rəl ˈher\:

YOUR UNALTERED GOD GIVEN HAIR AS IT GROWS THROUGH THE EPIDERMIS FROM FOLLICLES DEEP WITHIN THE DERMIS. NOT CHEMICALLY ALTERED, COLORED, CURLED OR STRAIGHTENED BY RELAXERS, TEXTURIZERS OR OTHER CHEMICAL AGENTS AND IS ALSO FREE OF ANY AND ALL EXTENSIONS.

Now if this does not define your hair, please stop claiming your hair is natural and trying to share the strength and hard-earned glory with those of us who are either currently wearing our natural hair or are dedicated to undergoing the strenuous process of getting there. It’s an insult. Get down with us or stop it. Please and thank you. Have a nice day.


About Queen Unique

Involved Parent/PTA Member Connoisseur of SOUL Music Lover of ALL things BLACK Poet/Spoken Word Artist Nostalgic Hip Hop head Graphic Artist/Painter Online Radio Hostess Motivational Speaker Habitual Hair Braider Freelance Journalist Random Twitter-er Selective Blogger Published Author Youth Volunteer Choosey Lover Autism Activist Visual Artist Bookworm See full bio at: www.QueenUnique.com
This entry was posted in Beauty Tips, Black History, For OUR Daughters, Girl Power, Natural Hair Journey, please & thank you, Race Matters, Things I Love, This Some BULLish! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Definition of NATURAL HAIR

  1. Dee says:

    I have been natural for over 10 years and from time to time I will wear extensions, straighten my hair with a hot comb, and I believe I have a right to do so…and I am natural because my hair is still all the things you mention most of the time –its definetely not permanently altered in anyway because I say no to any “chemicals” I have found ways to achieve the look I want without permanent altering my hair–I like variety i think that is the true beauty of this type hair –I can go from afro, kinky style to straight to whatever I want next ….I have a right!

  2. Miss Bee says:

    I must say, after reading your “definition if natural hair,” I was slightly offended! I was convinced to go natural by my older sister who has been natural for 7 years! Her hair is flawless whether she’s rocking the natural look or the straight look and even she wears extensions from time time, but does this make her unnatural? I think not! It’s a personal decision! Wearing extensions doesn’t alter your hair, it actually protects it when worn properly! Natural is a beautiful thing but it’s information like this that gets some people upset because you’re making your idea of natural hair appear as if it’s righteous! Just saying!

    • Queen Unique says:

      Actually its attitudes like THIS that continue to allow us to be blind as to what reality is. See, you have every right to be offended just as I have every right to post as I please in my blog, MY opinion. I also wear extensions and wigs from time to time as protective styles for my hair and I’m fully aware that at this time, my hair is NOT in its natural state and I have no problem with that, so sad to hear that that’s not a reality you can accept. For example, this would be like saying someone wearing a full face of makeup saying “oh this is my natural beauty… with makeup”. Ummm NO. Its altered. Regardless. This is the problem with some sistas who are not natural for the right reasons. Its a LIFESTYLE, not just a hairstyle. I’m not making it appear “righteous”, that’s the way you CHOSE to take it. So it is what it is. But even if it was RIGHTEOUS is that so wrong? Should a sista NOT feel liberated and excelled in her own confidence and way of life when she loves herself for the way God created her? I believe so and this is why I’ll continue to speak the TRUTH whether anybody agrees with me or not. That’s not my purpose. Thank you.

  3. Pingback: Agree or no? - CurlyNikki Forums

    • Queen Unique says:

      You make this seem so innocent yet you have some of the most angry bitter black girls attacking me since then in feeble attempts to insult my intelligence and my beliefs. What a disgrace. Is that really what being natural is about? I thought it was an empowering, uplifting lifestyle beyond hair but– sorry, there I go with my false opinions again. See, this is MY BLOG & don’t need anyone to agree or disagree with it, I’m just stating how I feel. I’ve been on your pages and I’ve disagreed but didn’t feel the need to “out” you. Sista I appreciate the hits but please “come get yo’ people”, these negative types are NOT welcome around here. Thanks and be blessed.

  4. Celina Johnson says:

    so youre telling me that you dont ever say that your hair is natural . That makeup analogy is not the same , because thats at the time being . just because you temporarliy put extensions in doesnt mean youre not natural . ask yourself when you wear youre extensions or whatever and someone ask you if youre natural do you say yes or no , just because you temporarily changed it . i dont color my hair , or put any chemicals in it , how ever i do straighten it time to time , im STILL natural , and maybe its your opinion , but IM DISAGREEING . !

    • Queen Unique says:

      so youre telling me that you dont ever say that your hair is natural .
      I’m sorry? Not if its weave, no, why would I?

      That makeup analogy is not the same , because thats at the time being . just because you temporarliy put extensions in doesnt mean youre not natural .
      The weave is at the time being also. What is the difference. Logically?

      ask yourself when you wear youre extensions or whatever and someone ask you if youre natural do you say yes or no , just because you temporarily changed it .
      When you put on makeup, do you say yeah this is makeup BUT I’m naturally beautiful though??? I didn’t think so.

      i dont color my hair , or put any chemicals in it , how ever i do straighten it time to time , im STILL natural , and maybe its your opinion , but IM DISAGREEING . !
      Uuuummm… okay. Don’t be mad though. lol

  5. Thanks for the information. I have locs but do color my hair. So what is the right thing to say? I have locs but color my hair, my hair would be natural if I didn’t color my hair or something else? Until seeing a comment somewhere else then searching the Internet and coming across your blog I didn’t realize how big of a topic this is- saying natural when not.

    • Queen Unique says:

      It really isn’t, love, and thank you for not taking my “opinion” in this post out of context & being negative. This is what I personally view as natural & no, for ME if I dyed MY hair, TO ME it would be altered. If YOU feel different by all means ROCK YO ISH SIS! 🙂 At the end of the day its all about what YOU feel, not anyone else!

  6. Anonymous says:

    Straightening your hair with a flat iron is unnatural?

  7. Ms. Lesleigh says:

    I’ll be attending a Natural Hair Expo today in NC, and this very topic has been on my mind a lot lately. I was recently snubbed by a sister who wears her hair in a short fro, and I, being natural also, often wear mine blown straight and flat-ironed. It was hurtful, because she couldn’t accept that I have struggled with the same strenuous process of achieving and embracing my natural hair texture as she has. I rock my fro, twist outs and cornrows just as she does. I simply choose to also blow dry my natural hair and curl it to achieve a style with length and body. I saw the two of us as sharing in this natural hair journey…… she viewed me as being non-committing and not truly natural. There truly is a wide range of beliefs about what defines natural hair. Therefore, I implore my sisters to define YOURSELF. I do not perm, Keratin, texturize or use ANY chemicals on my hair. That is MY definition of natural hair. For others clearly it is different. To each her own. Rock it and DO YOU….and salute other sisters, no matter WHERE they are in their natural hair journey. Be Blessed, Ladies.

Leave a Reply

