52 New Things to Try in 2009 (you choose!)

Its a new year, time for a new you! Try a few of these, if you haven’t already. This is a list of 52 things in 52 weeks so you can go for it daily or even weekly. These are self-enlightening activities that I’ve experienced or plan to experience. Come back and share details on your experiences, we’d love to hear all about it! Happy ’09!!

View my list after the jump…

  • Build a closer relationship with your God. Strengthen your spirituality
  • Live each day to the fullest and practice the Law of Attraction
  • Give random compliments
  • Do a good deed for a stranger
  • Take one night to spoil yourself inside and out
  • Read a book written by someone new that you’ve never read from before
  • Eat something you’ve never dared to eat before (stop thinking nasty y’all)
  • Write a mission statement with a friend, loved one or family member
  • Go to the arts & crafts store, buy supplies and create your own masterpiece
  • Buy a CD from an artist of a genre outside of your usual favorite
  • Do something sexy & outside the norm for your significant other (like a strip-show, well, that’s normal for some of us but you should try it though lol)
  • Go out and buy something ultra sexy for yourself
  • Pick up a new hobby
  • Have a girls/guys night out on the town
  • Learn a new language (I need to do this myself)
  • Write or record a song with your children or significant other
  • Go to an aquarium
  • Subscribe to an informative magazine
  • Try to save $10 or more each week to buy something nice (maybe a pair of designer shades)
  • Go to a great concert, college football game or (if you can stand it) one of those ultimate fights
  • Volunteer at a school, youth center or Big Brothers/Big Sisters. Make a difference in a kid’s life
  • Take a day to go on a photo shoot. Get a friend, a camera, an outfit & pick a quiet spot.
  • Purchase and learn to play an instrument
  • Ride a horse. It’s not as bad as it sounds
  • Be cordial to all cashiers
  • Tell the truth to a bill collector. Don’t be mean, just be real
  • Bake something from scratch
  • Go to a gun range and learn to shoot
  • Donate to a SMALL organization
  • Leave a comment on Queen Unique’s blog
  • If you’re a hip-hop or techno club type, go to a jazz or poetry bar and vice-versa. Switch it up!
  • Help someone reach a small goal. It may change a life…
  • Try Yoga, Tae-Bo or another type of workout outside your normal routine
  • Change your hairstyle… OFTEN! Dare to be different
  • Designate a corner or room at the crib to be your safe haven to relax. Candles, beach wallpaper, incense, comfy chair, pillows or whatever! Make this your SPOT to escape, like your little vacation-at-home.
  • Dance on a tabletop lol! (whether its Steve Nicks style or Black Diamond swag, getcha boogie on!)
  • Buy a bamboo tree or a money tree plant for your desktop
  • Try to do-it-yourself first with everything. This will save money and sharpen your skills
  • Do home projects with the kids just because. Whether its a science project, book report or whatever
  • Start a collection of something you like. My fancy is books 🙂
  • If you’re a parent, join the PTA board, attend a meeting or help with a fundraiser
  • Get a recliner. New or garage sale, make it happen!
  • See if you can get a DVD of your favorite childhood cartoons, movies and/or TV shows. Restore your youth!
  • Make a ME or a WE board. Grab a board, some old magazines, etc. and design a collage of what describes you (Me board) or do it with your whole family (We board)
  • Flirt with your S/O. Go to a club and pretend you just met… ROLEPLAY!!!! That is the HAWTness trust me!
  • Go be silly with your loved ones! Children, family, friends and/or significant other. Do some really goofy stuff and laugh LOUD for no reason at all
  • Shop according to a grocery menu. Plan meals ahead to save time and money
  • Pack your lunch every night for work. This will save money and help you eat better
  • Buy A Mile in My Heels by Queen Unique
  • Order all your credit reports (this should be done annually) and work towards cleaning it up
  • Cut fried foods outta your diet and get a George Foreman grill, they’re the BEST!!
  • Make a new positive friend. Get rid of any negative energy in your life no matter how long they’ve been there. The world evolves and, well… so should we

Bonus: Start a diary, update it daily or weekly. Its an amazing & accurate memoir to be able to go back and read in the future

About Queen Unique

Involved Parent/PTA Member Connoisseur of SOUL Music Lover of ALL things BLACK Poet/Spoken Word Artist Nostalgic Hip Hop head Graphic Artist/Painter Online Radio Hostess Motivational Speaker Habitual Hair Braider Freelance Journalist Random Twitter-er Selective Blogger Published Author Youth Volunteer Choosey Lover Autism Activist Visual Artist Bookworm See full bio at: www.QueenUnique.com
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Inspirational/Motivational and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 52 New Things to Try in 2009 (you choose!)

  1. AlwaysSilky says:

    This is a fabulous list and I fully intend to do some of the things listed here that I have not brought into my life yet.

  2. Pingback: #4 Realised that I’m not the only person doing this! « 52 New Things in 2009

  3. I enjoyed reading your list. I recently turned 30 and am trying to do 30 things before my 31st birthday. I saw volunteer work on your list and I think I’m going to add “working at a soup kitchen” to my list. It’s something I’ve been thinking about doing for years, but have never actually done it.

    I see that this post was January 9. How’s the year going? Have you been able to follow through with much on the list?

  4. Golden says:

    Hey Queen! I just wanted to say thank you very much for your list! I decided mid-December to try something I’ve never done before at least once a week. I’m so glad your list came up!

  5. Lu says:

    HI, I really like this post.
    I admit most of your goals I share as well.
    I’m sure your a very spiritual person as I , I wish you a very blessed year in this one 2010 and those to come.
    may you continue your journey with love and truth. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Lifesupporters - Your online family friendly support forum.

  7. Judy says:

    I’m the kind of person that undermines any and all suggestions of “change”, yet I’m constantly looking for an answer to break the monotony of life. (Tell me about it, I have brick walls that surround me. Lol!!) Your list was very inspiring, definitely using some of your suggestions!! Heading to the club now to play pretend, wish me luck!! Lol!! 😉

  8. Sis says:

    I like the way this “old” list was found by me today. : ) I’m glad it was here to inspire me.

Leave a Reply

